Anne of Green Gables

An orphan delighted to find a new home on Prince Edward Island – then crushed to discover that her new guardians had wanted a boy.  Her bright spirit and delightful chatter wins Matthew over, and he decided they must keep her.  Thus began Anne’s life with Marilla and Matthew on their farm, Green Gables.

Anne of Green Gables (whatever you do, do not forget the “e” – it’s much more elegant than Ann without the ‘e’, according to Anne) by L.M. Montgomery is a classic.  But if the only Anne of Green Gables you know is the movie from Sullivan Entertainment, you are missing out.

(Full disclosure: I have never seen the movies.  I can’t bring myself to watch an adaptation of one of my favorite books from childhood.  Although my friends tell me the first two movies are very true to the original story and quite delightful.)

Anne is an impulsive girl who gets herself into all sorts of scrapes, and feels life’s ups and downs to the full.  The drama of her escapades are tempered by the best intentions of her honest and loving heart.

Montgomery wrote eight books about Anne – following her from eleven through her teen years and into motherhood.  Every one of them is worth reading – not once, but over and over again.

  • Anne of Green Gables
  • Anne of Avonlea
  • Anne of the Island
  • Anne of Windy Poplars
  • Anne’s House of Dreams
  • Anne of Ingleside
  • Rainbow Valley
  • Rill of Ingleside

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: